Editorial treatment of the Shakespeare Apocrypha, 1664-1737

De Montfort University Open Research Archive

Show simple item record

dc.contributor.author Egan, Gabriel en
dc.date.accessioned 2012-09-03T09:58:09Z
dc.date.available 2012-09-03T09:58:09Z
dc.date.issued 2004
dc.identifier.citation Egan, G. (2004) Editorial treatment of the Shakespeare Apocrypha, 1664-1737. Paper Delivered at the Conference 'Leviathan to Licensing Act (The Long Restoration, 1650-1737): Theatre, Print and Their Contexts' at Loughborough University, 15-16 September en
dc.identifier.uri http://hdl.handle.net/2086/7082
dc.description.abstract The third edition (F3) of the collected plays of Shakespeare appeared in 1663, and to its second issue the following year was added a particularly disreputable group of plays comprised Pericles, The London Prodigal, Sir John Oldcastle, A Yorkshire Tragedy, Thomas Lord Cromwell, The Puritan, and Locrine. Of these, only Pericles remains in the accepted Shakespeare canon, the edges of which are imprecisely defined. (At the moment it is unclear whether Edward 3 is in or out.) The landmark event for defining the Shakespeare canon was the publication of the 1623 First Folio (F1), with which, as Stanley Wells and Gary Taylor put it, "the substantive history of Shakespeare's dramatic texts virtually comes to an end" (Wells et al. 1987, 52)... en
dc.language.iso en en
dc.title Editorial treatment of the Shakespeare Apocrypha, 1664-1737 en
dc.type Other en
dc.researchgroup English Research Group en

Files in this item

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record